top of page
Search

Oily Skin? Lets Talk

I have been getting so many questions recently on what is the best makeup/techniques for oily skin. I have combo skin, but more on the

oily side myself. So when clients or friends come to me with the "my make up does no stay.. HELP" question, this is something I have dealt with personally. Before the end of the day my foundation would be totally broken down. Creasing at my nose primarily, and truly sitting on top of the skin rather than feeling secure. Any slight move in a hug I would easily ruin someones shirt! Through my love and interest of products and educating myself to fix this problem I face as well, here is some of the best products & tips I have found to correct the issue:


1) Foundation is NOT one size fits all!

This may be THE most vital step in changing your make up game for oily skin. I remember way back in the day I would see a new commercial for foundation, or a celeb I liked was endorsing it, or if I simply liked the color of the bottle I would run out and get it. Innocently thinking all foundation works the same. They do NOT. If you have oily skin stay far away from foundations that say "glow", "moisturizing", "hydrating". Foundations like these typically already have a type of oil in them, which make them great for people with dry skin. But for already oily prone skin there is no reason to add oil with more oil. Next beauty aisle trip look for foundations that say "matte", "shine resistant" "long wear" "Demi Matte". These are the go to's for people with oily skin. Matte is normally a thicker formula to help fight back against the oils, it typically has a little more coverage for blemishes and it can be longer lasting. For some, you may not be a matte kinda girl all day everyday. If you want a healthy glow on the more natural days I recommend adding a beautiful moisturizer under the matte foundation. That will give a little more skin life but still remain resistant to the daily face oil. Also, the Demi Matte could be a good first step in that direction as well. Demi Matte are foundations that are in the middle, they have a little hydration but are still matte. This could be a perfect foundation for those like me that have combo skin but tend to be more oily, especially in my T- Zone. Take the time to really look at the beauty aisle next time.. check out the brands.. check out reviews and pay attention to what the bottle is saying!


(not my client)

Here are a few of my favorite MATTE foundations:


2) Prime your face!

In addition to finding the correct foundation, do the same with a primer. A primer is a step in your makeup routine you do after skin care and before adding foundation. Primer preps the skin for makeup application. A painter will prime the object they are going to paint before hand.. it smooths the edges, makes the surface even and adds a layer of protection. Primer for your face is essentially the same thing! If you have oily skin and don't use a primer at all I highly recommend adding that to your routine. Primer wise be on the look out for words like "long lasting","24 hour", "pore minimizing" and "oil reducing". This step is another layer to fight back against the oil to reduce breakage you get throughout the day and to extend your makeup wear time.


3) Set your foundation!

This is another essential step in long lasting make up, especially with oily skin. Powder is your best friend. It soaks up the oil throughout the day and will keep your face looking fresh.



After you apply foundation and concealer the next step is to use a powder to set the foundation in place. I love a translucent powder for this step. It is a loose powder that you can apply with a brush or beauty blender. A powder compact is a great tip to have in your purse throughout the day to touch up any problem spots. Favorite Powders: Fit Me Loose Finishing Powder, Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder

->Pro Tip: Use the baking technique in your oily prone spots. If your nose, forehead or chin is the most oily this is an added step with the powder to soak up as much oil as possible. Check out this short instructive video.. How to bake your face


4) Use a setting spray!

This is so important for having foundation last & to add yet another layer of security to fight the oils. Setting spray is the last step in the make up routine. It is like hair spray for your face... it essentially holds things in place where you want them throughout the day. It is super refreshing! This is another item to have in your purse to use throughout the day if touch ups are needed. When choosing a setting spray try to find one that is oil preventing.

Some of my favorites for oily skin: Urban Decay De-Slick, MAC Fix+, NYX Long Lasting Matte




I hope these quick tips make a difference in your beauty routine! Please let me know if you add any of these steps to your routine & what results you found!


Talk Soon Gorgeous!


xx Rachael

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page